Have you ever had it to where life is going great and all of a sudden, it just hits you sideways?  That is what happened to me in the last couple of days.  But God has been faithful and is restoring to me what has been lost.

These are the times where I am thankful that God is always there.  It is so wonderful to know that we have a God that loves us and keeps us through the difficult times in our lives.

I have been through many different storms in my life and honestly, trusting God didn't come easily for me.  I am a very tangible person.  I like to see and touch things - to know that they're real.  So for me to believe in a God that you can't see used to be a bit of a challenge for me.

I was taught even as a young child that you couldn't depend on anyone but yourself.  The old cliche 'if you want something done right, do it yourself' comes to mind.  Even though I grew up in the church, I was a very independent and stubborn child.  Kind of like a horse that takes its bit between its teeth and runs with it.

So, when life's storms would come up, my house always fell - like the house that was built upon the sand.  Trusting and depending upon God were foreign to me - even though I did grow up in the church.

Much of my life was based upon performance at home - and that's the way I viewed God.  If my performance in the church wasn't perfect, I got discouraged and depressed and felt like I was a total failure.  I would believe the lie that I had messed up and God didn't love me anymore - nor was I worthy to go to heaven.

But the world's way never worked for me either.  I ended up being disoriented and confused much of the time.  Letting my flesh get whatever it wanted made me a miserable person indeed.  I will never be that person again.

Every day is a new day.  And with each day that arrives in my life, I love God a little more, I trust Him a little more and I lean on Him just a little longer.  Also, reading the Bible every day has helped tremendously in my life.

I am not lying down and being a doormat for people or my emotions or my flesh to run over me.  I cast down everything that exults itself against the knowledge of God in my life.  I take thoughts captive in Jesus' name.  And I'm not afraid to tell people about Jesus or about what He's done in my life.

So when life hit me sideways, my heart sank to my feet for a split second and I had to wrestle with different thoughts and emotions that flooded my being.  And I realized that I had a choice.  I could look at my circumstances and let them get me down, or I could look away from everything that distracts to Jesus (Heb 12:2) because He is the Author and Finisher of my faith.

And for the first time that I can ever remember, I trusted God completely - and my house stood against the storm because it was built upon the Rock!

May God bless you and keep you my friends!



Leave a Reply.